The MBA Effect

Romans 1:16 NIV
For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile.

The MBA Effect
I recall when I obtained my Master of Business Administration (MBA) I was employed at a Higher Education University. When I would receive e-mails from various contacts I would notice after their name in the e-mail signatures letters indicating the individual’s education status: MS, MBA, PhD, just to name a few. I had my MBA yet I was hesitant to put the letters MBA behind my name. I completed my master degree as an education goal and to further my career. I did not want to be identified by a title. I remembered when I was in undergrad how offended my professors were if we neglected to refer to them as Dr. versus Mr. or Miss. I always maintained that if I furthered my education beyond a bachelor degree that I didn’t want to get the “big head” as some would say walking around identifying myself as Felicia McKnight, MBA.

One day I had an epiphany moment. I thought back to how I managed to work full time (40 hours a week) and go to graduate school full-time completing my MBA requirements in exactly two years all while being a single mother. I worked hard, I studied hard, I sacrificed and I endured difficult times to obtain my graduate degree. Why would I hide the fact that I am an MBA? Having an MBA didn’t change who I was, or did it? My MBA identified my educational status and accomplishments. It finally sunk in that I worked too hard not to tell the world I am Felicia McKnight, MBA. I eventually changed my e-mail signature and now the world knew what I had accomplished. I was no longer a woman who could get the job done with my old educational status, but I am now enhanced based on my new knowledge that I obtained in my MBA curriculum. I am now more equipped for my career.

As Christians we often hide behind our identity. We accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior yet some of us may go into the world hiding behind who we really are. We don’t want to be known as the Jesus freak, or the person that is the Holy Roller. We just want to be known as the same old person people knew around the way while we quietly serve God. The reality is when we experience salvation we are new creatures in Christ and the old has passed away (2 Corinthians 5:17). The world needs our visibility.

In our foundational scripture Paul is not ashamed of the gospel because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes (Romans 1:16). John 1:1 tells us ”In the beginning was the word, and the word was with God, and the word was God.” When we proclaim the word of God to others we are sharing the good news of who our Heavenly Father is. The word is God and it is so powerful the word can bring forth life and convict hearts to turn to follow Christ. The word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” (Hebrews 4:12) Exposing others to the word of God and Christ can bring forth a powerful change. We know the joy we have all experienced through salvation. Why keep this amazing experience and unconditional love a secret? Let us not be ashamed to share the good news. We have to remember the sacrifice Jesus Christ made for us on the cross. He didn’t die for us in private. His death was a public spectacle for your sins and mine. Just as I had to remember my MBA degree was earned and I should proudly display my academic accomplishments, likewise we should go out into the world boldly proclaiming who we are in Christ and the powerful word of God. (2 Corinthians 5:20) Be Encouraged.

Prayer
Heavenly Father, thank you for sending your precious son Jesus Christ to die on the cross for our sins and as the gateway for a relationship with you. Help us not to take for granted or discount the true meaning of our salvation. Give us the strength to be bold Christian Ambassadors as we represent you in public. In Jesus name. Amen

~Written by Felicia McKnight, MBA~

7 thoughts on “The MBA Effect

  1. Fee this is an awesome word. I too have felt the same way about displaying my credentials, but you have made me look boldly and appreciate my hard work and accomplishments. Also with how far God had brought me and sharing His word…I am not ashamed and I thank you for letting God use you!

  2. Fee I have to admit when I first received my MBA I felt the exact same way. God gave me my MBA for a reason and the reason was not to be ashamed of it. Most people are ashamed to praise God on the other 6 days of the week but I had to learn that God is not ashamed of me so who am I to be ashamed of him. We all need to step up and be to proud to praise His name! You’re never to fly to praise!

  3. Believe it or not I was the same way when I received my licence to preach the gospel! I think I was hiding from the world as a female preacher because most Christians are not accepting of that. I was uncomfortable when I heard others refer to me as “Rev Mattie”, and when my senior pastor bestowed the title of “Staff Pastor” to me it was yet another adjustment. His words of wisdom to me was ‘Don’t let anyone diminish your call’. I soon came to the realization that suffering for the sake of Christ was not the worst thing that could happen to me in fact it was the best. “But rejoice inasmuch as you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed” (I Peter 4:13). Every Christian has a spiritual gift awakened in them at the time of conversion this is our gift from God. How we use it for his glory is our gift to God. So whatever our station in life may be, whatever talent we have we are to work as if it is unto the Lord. Glorifying him in all we do and say thus being a light in the world we live in.

Leave a Reply

