Lord Teach Me to Pray

Luke 11:1b NIV
“Lord, teach us to pray, just as John taught his disciples.”

Lord Teach Me To Pray
I spent a lot of time with my grandmother as a littler girl and teenager. I remember spending summers with her and during the week I’d have to go with her to her weekly prayer meeting. There I was this young person, in a room full of middle aged and elderly women who loved the Lord and they loved to PRAY! Little did I know many years later I would understand those women’s passion for prayer and be just like them!

In years past as I got acquainted with various women at my church I recall having my own personal one on one prayer times with them. They displayed such boldness and confidence when they prayed. Most importantly I knew God was in the midst as they prayed. After praying with these beautiful women I would walk away each time thinking “Wow, these women must have Jesus’s personal cell phone number”, because I would walk away immediately full of peace and hope and sometimes immediate answers and breakthroughs. They would have encouraging words that felt like God was speaking to me through them….which I now understand He was. These women opened my eyes to prayer and it’s powerful results.

As I matured spiritually I begin to feel like if they could do it, then so could I. I developed the desire to want to grow to a point where I could pray for my own self and not always have to call these women or the prayer line to have someone pray for me, so like the disciples I said “Lord, teach me how to pray!” God answered my prayers immediately! I was directed to the book “The Master Is Calling” by Lynne Hammond which gave me in in depth study on prayer. Now I love to pray! I love the time with God. I love when God speaks back. I love the power and results of prayer. I just love prayer! I love prayer so much that it hurts my heart to hear someone say they don’t pray because they don’t have time to pray or they don’t know how to pray. It hurts my heart because if only these individuals knew what prayer could do they’d find the time! No, I am not casting judgment on anyone who falls in this category. If you find yourself not having time to pray, don’t know how to pray, or you just want to grow in prayer, then today’s Feevotional is specifically for you. Today I want to encourage you and pray with you by sharing my personal tips on prayer.

GOD DESIRES US TO PRAY
Philippians 4:6 NIV
“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” God desires to fellowship and communicate with us. He wants you to “pray continually” (1 Thessalonians 5:17). Quiet time and prayer is a way to spend time with God and to let him know the matters of your heart. Each new day faces a new challenge and new cares and concerns. God does not want us to worry about those things. He wants us to pray and petition for everything according to Philippians 4:6. Scripture reminds us, “devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.” (Colossians 4:2) When you pray and speak to God it’s the same feeling you get when you release and vent to a friend. The difference is you are telling the one who has all things under control and you can rest assure “His ears are attentive to your prayers.” (1 Peter 3:12)

YOU CAN PRAY AT ANY TIME OF DAY
Psalm 55:16-17
“As for me, I will call upon God, and the Lord shall save me. Evening and morning, and at noon, will I pray, and cry aloud; and He shall hear my voice.”
There are 24 hours in a day, so there is always time to pray as you or no human is busy all 24 hours. We can make time and squeeze in time for everything and everybody else, so why not make time for the One who allowed you to exist? David elected to pray at various times of day. My personal preference is early in the morning. Like David “In the morning, LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.” (Psalm 5:3) When I wake up in the wee hours of the night around 1 or 2am I enjoy praying. Jesus prayed at night (Luke 6:12) and Paul and Silas prayed and seen breakthrough at midnight (Acts 16:25). For me this is the quietest time of my 24 hours. No one is bothering me. No e-mails. No text messages. I can’t even hear the neighbors. It’s just peace and quiet, me and God. My mind is clear and I can focus and spend time with my Heavenly Father. It’s during these times I have my best times and my most focused prayer times. I am not limited to only praying in the morning. There are times throughout the day where I pause to speak to God, say thank you or pray for something I am dealing with at work. Someone may e-mail me some news or I may receive a text message and I will usually pause to pray immediately if I am able to.

THERE ARE NO RULES FOR PRAYER
There are no rules or formulas for the amount of time you pray or for how long your prayer should be. I can pray for long periods of times. Then there are times where all I can get out is “Thank you Lord for this day. Amen”. I’ve seen people pray for long times. Some were just because they wanted to ramble on and for show and other long prayers were truly Holy Spirit inspired. The Bible warns us against this in Matthew 6:5-8 “And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.” What matters is that your prayers are sincere words from your heart and not to put on a show for others. Prayer doesn’t have to be elaborate (i.e. thiseth and thoueth). You communicate with God in your language as if you were talking to a respected friend.

WHEN YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT TO PRAY
There will be times you don’t know what to pray, but you want to pray. One suggestion is to pray the Lord’s Prayer found in Matthew 6:9-13. God has given us this prayer model as a guide. You can also start by just telling God how much you love and appreciate Him. Another alternative is to sit in silence and ask the Holy Spirit to lead you in the words to say. Romans 8:26-27 reminds us that “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.” The Holy Spirit is interceding on your behalf according to God’s will.

I pray you were encouraged today to start your prayer life, or make an attempt to pray more often. God loves you and he just wants to hear from you more than on an as needed basis. I encourage you to communicate with our heavenly father more. He’d love to hear from you. Be blessed and be encouraged.

“Pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.” (Ephesians 6:18)

Prayer
Lord, teach us to pray. Forgive us for the times we’ve only come to you when we need something. Guide us on how to commune and fellowship with you in prayer. Give us direction on the best times to spend with you. Give us strength and wisdom to seek you more. In Jesus Name. Amen

Contact Feevotionals
Prayer Request
Praise Reports/Comments

Prayer Resources
Here are a few of my favorite prayer resources to help you get started, get back on track, or to enhance your prayer life!
* Bible (You Version App) – Teach Me To Pray Reading Plan
* Power of a Praying Woman (Author Stormie Omartian)
* The Master is Calling (Author Lynne Hammond)

3 thoughts on “Lord Teach Me to Pray

Leave a Reply

