***WARNING: Be Anxious For Nothing!***

Philippians 4:6-7
Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

***WARNING: Be Anxious For Nothing!***
One of my good friends always says “Confession is good for the soul,” so let me start off with my confession….My name is Felicia, but my name should be “Sara the anxious one”. You all know Sara from Genesis. Sara, the one who God made a promise to, but He took 25 years to fulfill it. The promise took so long that Sara got impatient and anxious. She got ahead of God by creating a replica of the promise by her own power and authority by allowing Hagar to give her husband a son when she should have just waited on God. My confession is that Sara and I are….well we were just alike in that we both suffered from impatience and anxiety. In my personal experience I have had the promises of God that took too long, but I decided I’d help God out and just like Sara I created a mess.

Anxiety is a serious issue that effects so many yet no one wants to discuss it or seek help to overcome it. God warns us to “be anxious for nothing”. It is a warning for a reason, because He knows what happens when we get anxious. Anxiety is a feeling of constant worrying, uneasiness, or uncertainty. In my personal experience I had things I have prayed and hoped for that never seem to come to pass. Have you ever sent a text message but it never goes through? It just stays’ there and sticks. Sometimes you have to resend the text message again for it to go through? That is exactly how I felt about my blessings, things God has shown me, and my personal prayers. I felt like everything was stuck, so I began to worry. I seen so many prayers getting answered in the lives of others that I had prayed for and stood in agreement with. They were getting miracles while I was standing on the sideline waiting for mine. I knew my prayers were getting through because I seen what I prayed for in the lives of others come to pass yet mine seem to be stuck. This feeling caused me to get anxious. I begin to worry, “Lord Will my prayers ever come to pass? Will the things you showed me ever become a reality?” I felt doubt and uncertainty. I remember thinking “maybe I am doing something wrong in my own life”, but the reality is I was doing everything right except for waiting patiently and being still and knowing that He is God.

If you allow your mind to dwell on negative thoughts long enough it will make you crazy! Trust me I know! Anxiety will make you do things you shouldn’t do that are out of the norm for your character. Trust me I am speaking from experience. Anxiety will make you push your thoughts and ideas on others perhaps irritating them as they have to deal with your craziness. Whew thank God for understanding people, forgiveness and mercy. Anxiety can make you get ahead of God. I know because I have been there and done that. If you allow it to anxiety can create a mess damaging circumstances and relationships and leaving a huge mess for God to clean up. Anxiety is NOT good!

Consider this a huge yellow warning sign, “Be anxious for NOTHING!” Got it? OK, Good. Now let’s move on.

But in everything by prayer and supplication….let your requests be made know to God….
“But”…..that word that tells you something different is coming. Instead of being “anxious” God says pray about it! Whatever concern you have God says “Talk to me about it. Come to me humbly and let me know what is going on.” Prayer is a two way street. You talk to God, but you also listen to God. He may have further instructions for you in addition to not being anxious and prayer. God may have the answers to how you can get that promise without messing it up. Instead of being anxious and experiencing what I have pause by being obedient and PRAY.

With thanksgiving…
When we release our concerns to God He has promises that line up with every concern. God may have even spoken to you personally through the Bible, a sermon or His audible voice, and told you what He is going to do in your life. He may have showed you by way of visions, dreams, or a prophetic word. Stand on your promises. It is your hope. God is faithful and he does not lie. If God told you He would do it, then by faith thank God that it is already done. Remain confident in His word with a heart of gratitude that the promises for your life will come to past. Hallelujah!

The peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus……
After you have prayed and praised God something magical happens. There is power in letting things go, relinquishing control, and trusting God. That power is PEACE! When you were anxious you were crazy and stressed. When you give the situation to God, you are at PEACE. PEACE truly is something that surpasses all understanding. Your world could be upside down and not even faze you because of PEACE. I can’t even fully explain PEACE, because It’s beyond my comprehension. All I know is when I take my hands off of stuff give it to God and TRUST him something happens. My life changes. It mellows out. My thoughts and vision becomes clearer. PEACE!

If you trust God, then there is no need to be anxious. Let me try my best to explain PEACE. PEACE is like a protective fence. PEACE will guard your heart and your mind so you don’t have to worry. PEACE guards your heart and your mind by keeping you in a place of surrender and a place of trusting our heavenly father. PEACE does not allow the negative thoughts to enter its way back in to the mind. PEACE brings confidence, assurance, and gratitude. PEACE keeps a glow around you. PEACE puts pep in your step. PEACE is God saying “I’ve got this my child.” PEACE does so many things that is beyond human understanding. PEACE is a supernatural feeling that only God can give.

“Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.” (Philippians 4:6-7 The Message)

I encourage everyone who has suffered or is currently suffering from anxiety to let go and let God. Today I am writing from personal experience and it can be done. You can do ALL things through Christ who gives you strength and that includes not being anxious. Pray, be thankful, and let the PEACE of God overwhelm your heart and your mind. Be blessed and encouraged!

Prayer
Heavenly Father, I come lifting up all individuals to you today who have suffered from and experienced anxiety. Forgive us for operating against your word by letting our negative thoughts consume us. I lift up every person dealing with anxiety especially those who have no one to turn to for support and encouragement. Touch every mind and remind them that you desire all of us to cast our cares to you. Remind us that you are God Immanuel and you are with us and that you will never leave us or forsake us. Forgive us for the times we doubted or stop trusting you. Today we lift up our eyes to you, El Shadai the all sufficient God and Elohim the God who has all things under control. Lord, we surrender our minds to you today declaring your word over our lives that we have the mind of Christ. We surrender every thought that has us captive and leads to dark places. Lord, today we surrender all to you as we trust you with our future. We thank you for every promise of hope that you have given each of us as we wait for you to fulfill your promises in our lives. We thank you that as we surrender to you that you are Jehovah Shalom the God that gives us a peace which surpasses all understanding. We give you all glory and honor and praise. In Jesus Name. Amen.
~Written by Felicia McKnight~

Contact Feevotionals

Prayer Request
Praise Reports/Words of Encouragement

Leave a Reply

