A Special Gift – To: YOU – From: God

A Special Gift – To: YOU – From: God
Written by Felicia McKnight

John 3:16 Amplified
For God so greatly loved and dearly prized the world that He [even] gave up His only begotten (unique) Son, so that whoever believes in (trusts in, clings to, relies on) Him shall not perish (come to destruction, be lost) but have eternal (everlasting) life.

Well, 2014 seems to be moving right along. It is now February also known as the love month. This means I see the word “Valentine” plastered everywhere along with red and pink hearts and Xs and O’s symbolic for affection. Everyday my e-mail inbox has been filled with e-mails saying “Gifts to Get Him or Her” or “Valentine’s Day Gift Ideas.” As I scrolled through each e-mail I had a light bulb moment that during this time we tend to express our love towards those special people in our lives by purchasing special gifts.

Our scripture today reminds us that God loved us so much that He gave a special gift for each one of us. It is one gift that all can benefit from. We didn’t have to hint around to God what love gift we desire of Him. Before God formed the foundation of this world He knew there was a special gift He would have to give each one of us to demonstrate His love for us. That gift is the death of His only son Jesus Christ on the cross. For those of us who are Christians (we believe in Jesus Christ and have received Him as our Lord and Savior), this special gift saved us from the pits of hell, death, and separation from God. This gift didn’t just accomplish saving us from death, but it is a gift that keeps on giving. This is not an annual gift. Matter of fact time is not a factor with this gift. It never runs out or gets old or tarnishes. It is a gift that promises us eternal life with our Heavenly Father. This gift is not just for me and it is not just for you. It is not for us to keep tucked away in the safe or a jewelry box. It is a gift that God desires to share with all who will believe in Him. “This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” (1 John 4:9-10)

With some gifts you may get in an argument with your spouse or significant other and decide not to gift them anything at all on Valentine’s Day. This gift from God is so special that it doesn’t matter how we’ve acted or what we’ve done. It doesn’t matter if we messed up. God loves us so much that He will not take this gift from us. It is ours for eternity. “The LORD is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love.” (Psalm 103:8 NIV)

This gift I can’t give you, but I can share it. This special gift is from God, to YOU! Do you receive it?

Love Letter From God
Dear [Insert Your Name here]:
Before I formed you in your mother’s womb I knew you and before you were born I set you apart. (Jeremiah 1:5) I chose you to be Holy and blameless in my sight. (Ephesians 1:4) I created you to be in my image and my likeness. (Genesis 1:26) You are fearfully and wonderfully made. (Psalm 139:14) I knew that one day you would mess up and I know you will never be perfect (Romans 3:23), but I love you anyway. While you were yet still a sinner (Romans 5:8) I came up with a plan to redeem you. I loved you and valued you so much that I gave up my precious and only son by way of death to free you of sin. I love you enough that I want you to myself for eternity and I have paved the way for you to have eternal life by way of the cross. (John 3:16) No matter what you did in your past I still love you. I accept you. Even if you messed up last night or before you read this I still love you. I forgive you. I am patient with you and my love will always remain. (Psalm 145:8). If you would have me as your eternal love, then believe in me. Confess with your mouth and believe in your heart that I am your Lord and that I was raised from the dead. If you believe, then my forgiveness and my Lordship is yours for eternity. (Romans 10:9-10) I love you my child. Yes, I am talking to you reading this right now. I love you and there is nothing or no one that can change that. (Romans 8:38-39)
Love,
God

Leave a Reply

