Lessons From A Maidservant – Part 2

Lessons From A Maidservant – Part 2
Written by Felicia McKnight

Genesis 16:7-8 NLT
The angel of the LORD found Hagar beside a spring of water in the wilderness, along the road to Shur. The angel said to her, “Hagar, Sarai’s servant, where have you come from, and where are you going?” “I’m running away from my mistress, Sarai,” she replied.

Lesson #3 – God Will Send An Angel
Last week we learned from Hagar to know when it is time to flee from situations and sometimes we need a break from people and our daily life routines. Hagar ran away from her boss (or mistress), Sarai. It is not clear if Hagar had a plan once she made this escape; however, it was clear that she was distraught. Often times we can become so overwhelmed with emotions that we do not always think clearly and logically. We act out of our emotions. Fortunately God loves us so much that He will not allow us to go through our circumstances alone. Just when we think we are going through things by ourselves God will send an angel to our rescue to minister to our needs and guide us along the way He has ordained for us. I remember in the sermon my pastor preached on Easter Sunday he told us God has friends to help guide us back to God’s will. Those friends are His angels on assignment. Angels are “ministering spirits (servants) sent out in the service [of God for the assistance] of those who are to inherit salvation?” (Hebrews 1:14 Amplified)

Have you ever found yourself in a situation and someone showed up out of the blue? All of a sudden you received a phone call, text message, e-mail, or a personal visit. They were right on time with their words of encouragement or prayer. They didn’t know what you were dealing with but their words seemed to have peeked into your prayer closet. That was no accident or coincidence, but God’s divine timing. God sent an angel. He assigned someone to you to minister to your needs. Later in scripture in verse 9-11 we will see that the angel gave Hagar specific instructions from God to direct her along the path God wanted her to go.

I remember I went through about a week and a half period of dealing with hurt, pain, and disappointment. The blows kept coming one right after the other. It was a holiday week and a busy week for my prayer partner so I didn’t bother to reach out to her for prayer. I decided I was going to try to deal with this on my own. After the holiday she got sick so that once again prevented us from having our weekly prayer call. I have other people I could have called for prayer and encouragement but I decided I was going to go through the journey alone. Although I could have used the support I relied on myself and went to the prayer closet on my matters alone. One day when my prayer partner was recovering I sent her a text message with a prayer request that evening as I knew we wouldn’t be able to talk. My normal habit is to turn my ringer off at night before I go to bed. I received a text message from someone and I realized that I hadn’t turned my ringer off. When I read the message I proceed back to sleep and I thought I turned my ringer off. As I was drifting off to sleep I was startled by the phone ringing and to my surprise it was my prayer partner calling me late. I would later discover that it was not an accident that I forgot to turn my ringer off, but God’s divine intervention. She rarely calls me out of the blue unless we plan our calls. She read my text message and said she couldn’t go to sleep without praying with me over that matter. As she started praying the Holy Spirit lead her to pray for some other areas not related to my text message and I knew God had sent an angel that night to minister to what I had been dealing with alone. What she was praying for and giving me encouraging words for had nothing to do with my text message and everything to do with the emotional rollercoaster I had been on. Her words were right on time. Some were confirmation to what I had already received from God in my prayer time. Other words were words of guidance and direction. By the time we hung up I KNEW God ordained that phone call. It was not an accident or a coincidence, but it was right on time and just what I needed to give me strength and direction that I was unable to get on my own.

“Don’t forget to show hospitality to strangers, for some who have done this have entertained angels without realizing it!” (Hebrews 13:2) I remember another time a lady showed up out of the blue in my life. I had no clue who she was. We met in the strangest of ways. We only had one mutual friend and it was actually someone I was no longer acquainted with. Under normal circumstances I would not have entertained this lady and would have cut her off thinking there was a hidden motive. However, we talked and got to know one another and later became great friends. This woman turned out to be a major blessing to my life and one of my cherished friendships. Little did I know when we met I was entertaining an angel. She has blessed me so throughout the years. Be careful and sensitive to the Holy Spirit when God sends people in your life. Be mindful of how you treat people. You never know when you are entertaining an angel of God.

There are so many examples in the Bible of God using angel’s to accomplish His will:
– An angel appeared to Abraham in Genesis 22 and directed him not to lay a hand on Isaac.
– An angel appeared to Elijah in 1 Kings 19 and advised him to go eat.
– An angel saved Daniel from being eaten by a lion in Daniel 6.
– An angel showed up in the fiery furnace with Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego in Daniel 3.
– An angel informed Mary she would become pregnant with Jesus in Luke 22.
– An angel showed up in the garden when Jesus was tempted by the enemy in Matthew 4.
– An angel rescued Peter from jail in Acts 12.

Praise the LORD, you angels,
you mighty ones who carry out his plans,
listening for each of his commands.
(Psalm 103:20)

As you go through the tough times in life remember you are never alone. Sometimes God will send you an angel when you least expect it just as He did with Hagar. “For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways.” (Psalm 91:11) We think we meet people by accident or coincidence, but God sends His angels our way to help move us closer to our destiny. Other times God has angels working behind the scenes causing things to line up in your favor so that all things will work out for God’s perfect plan and will for your life. Be Blessed and Encouraged.

Prayer
Heavenly Father we praise you for the angels you send our way seen and unseen to accomplish your perfect will in our lives. When we stand in need we say thank you for angels on assignment to protect us and to guide us. Help us to be sensitive to those you send in our life and give us the discernment to know when we are in the presence of an angel helping to accomplish your perfect will for our lives. Thank you for every angel who holds our name as a personal assignment from you. May your perfect will be done and their missions accomplished in our lives. In Jesus name. Amen

Leave a Reply

