Let’s Not Get Tired

Let’s Not Get Tired
Written by Felicia McKnight

Galatians 6:9 NLT
So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.

So let’s not get tired….
Earlier this year I decided to run in my first 5K race with a group of friends. When we decided on forming a team I was so excited. I had never run in a 5K before so it required preparation. Since it was the Christmas Holidays and the race was in January I did not prepare like I should have. I decided to download the Couch to 5K app and let my phone become my personal trainer. I didn’t do a good job keeping up with the app. Matter of fact it’s nearly 6 months later and I am still on week one, day three. I had been working out at the gym but just not running which is what I needed to prepare. I was all excited and my friends and I set out on our journey. Since a majority of us were not conditioned we decided we would walk and then run in intervals. That worked out just fine for me in the beginning, but then for me something happened. Half way through I began to get tired. My legs were aching. I begin to slow down and I couldn’t keep up with the others. It got to the point where one of my legs went completely numb while the other leg kept cramping up. Since I could not feel my leg it made it even more challenging to finish the race. I had a choice to make. I could have sat on the curb for a while and took a break. I could have told one of the race volunteers I couldn’t do it and send a cart for me. I could have given up. I decided me, my cramped leg and my other numb leg were going to finish the race. I told the ladies to go ahead and I’d meet them at the finish line.

Our life journey can be a lot like my 5K experience. We can start off having a good day. We may breeze through a week, or a month, but then all of a sudden things happen. We go through a season of trials and each circumstance can eat away at your spirit causing you to grow tired and wanting to give up. It can leave you questioning God and wondering what is going on. It can drain you and leave you at a place where you feel like you don’t have much prayer or faith left. Even when you get to that point the word of God reminds all of us today not to get tired of doing what is good.

Of doing what is good….
What is doing good? I believe doing good is to keep pressing with the little you have left. There may be some days you feel like you have nothing left, but our gracious Father will give you exactly what you need to keep pressing one day at a time. Remember in my 5K I mentioned I had slowed down. There were times the ladies would go ahead of me and one would stay behind with me at my pace. There were times they all sped up, but they would pause and wait until I got to them and then we’d proceed on together during our walking interval. Just like the one that stayed with me God will place people in your life to give you strength through encouragement and prayer. There will be times where you may feel you are alone, but God will place someone along your path with a word of encouragement, a prayer, and a devotional you need to read. A song may come on the radio that ministers to your situation. The preacher may deliver a tailor made sermon to you on Sunday. God knows what you need along your journey and he knows how to meet you where you are so that you do not get tired and give up.

To do good means to hold on to your faith and to not lose sight of God. Don’t focus on the circumstances but focus on the God that is greater than the circumstance. God will never leave you alone. (Psalm 37:25) “The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.” (Psalm 34:18 NLT)

At just the right time….
We all will have to go through seasons and trials. Ecclesiastes 3 reminds us that there is a season and a time for everything. There is a season where we will have our good times and there is a season we will have our not so good times. The good news about seasons is they are only temporary. Just like seasons on the calendar there is a date assigned to it. If you pull out your calendar there is a date assigned to when summer began and there is a date assigned to when it will end and fall begins. If you are going through an unpleasant season I am here to remind you it is only temporary. God has an appointed time as to when it will end. “For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever!” (2 Corinthians 4:17 NLT)

We will reap….
2 Corinthians 4:17 not only reminds us that our troubles are temporary, but it says “they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them.” Your season of trial is not in vain. You will get something out of it. Galatians 6:9 says you will reap. To reap means “to get as a return, recompense, or result.” To reap means there is a harvest. (dictionary.com) In order to get a harvest you first have to plant something. “You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.” (Psalm 56:8 NLT)

A harvest of blessing…
“Those who plant in tears will harvest with shouts of joy.” (126:5NLT) To harvest means your season has changed. It means crops are no longer just seeds, but they are now something tangible you can see with your natural eye. When we enter a season of harvest we not only will begin to receive tangible things you may have been praying and believing in God for, but there are intangible blessings that come with the harvest that money cannot by. The heaviness is gone. The tears are dried up. You begin to harvest joy and peace that only our heavenly Father can give when we keep our eyes on Him. “You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!” (Isaiah 26:3)

If we don’t give up…
The key to the harvest is to not give up! Back to my race experience. I finally and painfully made it to the finish line. When I crossed the line, when I broke through there were several things waiting on me. I got a beautiful medal that symbolized I “completed” the race. There were people cheering me on. There were photos taken to capture the moment. There was free food and beverages at the finish line and there was a party. I was able to enjoy all of this because I did not give up. I didn’t get tired. I chose not to focus on my pain but I focused and was determined I would FINISH!

There is a blessing at the end of every storm. You have a choice as to whether you will receive it or not. You can give up and say “Lord, I can’t and I won’t do this anymore” or you can put your focus on God and His promises and keep on pressing until the appointed time. I know it sounds easier said than done. I can testify today that the fact you are even reading this devotional is because I pressed through the hurt, the pain, the season of darkness and confusion. I kept my eyes on my Heavenly Father. I drew from the strength of those who could pray for me and give me an encouraging word. I pressed through and I finished. It was rough, but if I can do it you can too. Be blessed and encouraged on today.

Prayer
Heavenly Father, we thank you that we are able to keep our eyes gazed on you the sovereign God. We thank you for being El Elyon the Most High God. Your name reminds us today that You are higher and greater than any challenge we will ever face. I pray that as we go through the rough seasons that we can continue to keep our eyes focused on You, the God who has all things under control. You are sovereign and you know the beginning from the end. Our job is not to try to fix everything and figure it out. Give us strength not to lean on our own understanding but in all our ways to trust in you. On those days we feel tired and weary give us the measure of grace we need for that day to press through until our season of harvest arrives. We give You all glory, honor, and praise. In Jesus Name. Amen

Song of Encouragement (click on title): You’re Tears Have Paid Off by Vashawn Mitchell (feat. Monique Walker)

Leave a Reply

