Where Does Your Help Come From?

Where Does Your Help Come From?
Written by Felicia McKnight

Psalm 121:1-2
I lift my eyes toward the mountains.
Where will my help come from?
My help comes from the LORD,
the Maker of heaven and earth.

About a month ago I was out and about. That particular day I decided to wear my glasses instead of my contact lens. While I was out I took my glasses off and accidentally dropped them. I picked them up not thinking anything of it and proceeded on to my next venture. While I was driving all of a sudden my vision became blurry. I hadn’t eaten all day so I actually thought I was getting light headed due to hunger and prayed I made it to my job without passing out behind the wheel. Shortly after I had that thought my phone rung and the lady that I had just left called to tell me that she believed she found my lens. I remember thinking that was strange because I had my glasses on. As I removed my glasses from my face I realized the lens was in fact missing and I thought to myself “Yep, that’s my lens.” No wonder my vision had suddenly become blurry! It’s OK if you’re laughing at me, because I had to laugh at myself. Losing the lens in my glasses was a problem because I could not see very well for the rest of the day. I was down to my last pair of contact lenses, so I had to wear those and pray they didn’t tear or dry out before I was able to get a new prescription.

I made my annual eye appointment and typically the optometrist likes for you to bring your glasses during the exam. I also wanted to have them so that I could see about getting the lens placed back in. My glasses have a special place in my nightstand when I am not wearing them. For some reason the day of my eye exam I could not find them. I knew exactly where to look, but they were nowhere to be found. I searched several places and nothing. I felt as though I needed those glasses to help me through my exam, but they somehow had been misplaced.

As with many of our possessions we set them in a special place so that we will always know where to find it when we need them. In the psalm for today the psalmist was in need of help from the Lord and he knew where to look. He gazed his eyes in the right direction which was up.

Many times when we are going through life we look for help too. We need help in challenging situations, answers, directions, consoling and much more. When you stand in need of help where do you look? Do you look for help in the crown bottle? Do you look for help in cigarettes? Do you look for help through promiscuity? Do you look for help in drugs? Do you look for help in your horoscope? Do you look for help in shopping? Or like the psalmist do you know to look up for your help?

I named all those things because they are common places many people like to go for help. For example, when life gets too overwhelming some people like to have a special drink to take the edge off. Sometimes that drink may turn into one too many and now you are intoxicated instead of getting the true help you need. The examples I named are all temporary fixes, but the ultimate and permanent fix comes from looking up.

Why do you have to look up? You look up because that is where your Heavenly Father resides. “Who is like the LORD our God, the One who sits enthroned on high.” (Psalm 113:5) He is El Elyon the Most High God. The psalmist knows God as Elohim, the maker of heaven and earth. Genesis 1:1-2 says “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.” God carefully crafted earth with systems in place. It goes from light to dark on it’s own, because God set up a time system for earth. Earth has water, vegetation, and life all feeding off of one another to survive and multiply. God did all of his creative work in six days, so that He wouldn’t have to recreate again. Since Genesis 1 God has not had to create another sky or water or light or day. They are all there until He gets ready to shut it all down.

If God could take a dark and empty earth and give it light and creation in six days and never need to create it again, then what more can He do for you? Do you know where your help comes from? Do you know how to focus your eyes up on a God that has all things under control? Whatever it is you need answers to today….whatever void you need filled…whatever consoling you need….whatever you need is….you can get it by looking up. Be blessed and encouraged!

Prayer
Heavenly Father, we thank you for being El Elyon the most high God. Thank you that when we have a need we have a safe place to gaze our eyes on and that is by looking up. Thank you that as we place our focus on you we can trust that you have everything we need. We give you all glory, honor, and praise. Amen

Leave a Reply

