My God Who Hears

My God Who Hears
Written by Felicia McKnight
8/6/2014

Psalm 116:1-2 NIV
I love the LORD, for he heard my voice;
he heard my cry for mercy.
Because he turned his ear to me,
I will call on him as long as I live.

I was reading this psalm recently in a class and I got sucked into it like a good Saturday afternoon Lifetime Movie. As I was reading the Psalm I had to do a double take, because it felt like the Psalm of Felicia and not David’s Psalm. Today I am singing at the top of my lungs, “I LOVE THE LORD, because he heard my voice. He heard my cry for his favor!” It is a joy to be able to sing that song with personal truth behind it. Before I can tell you the good news I have to share the background information.

My personal life has been on a whirlwind now for the past two years. Without sharing the details I will just say I felt exactly like Psalm 116:3, “The cords of death entangled me, the anguish of the grave came over me; I was overcome by distress and sorrow.” My distress and my sorrow have been great. I am an encourager and a praying woman. I find myself lifting up everyone else and seeing their breakthroughs yet when it came to my prayers I felt like they were not being answered or heard. There were days I questioned God. I knew He had to hear me when I prayed, because He was answering the prayers of the people I had been praying for yet I was still crying out for His mercy and a release from what I had been going through. I often wondered if God had selective hearing. Was there a reason why my personal requests were not being heard? I’m just being honest and I am sure many of you have felt the same way.

I recently attended a weekend silent prayer retreat. I was so excited that I was going to have my time with just me and God. The week leading up to the retreat I prepared my heart and my mind. I wrote down every matter of my heart that had burdened me. I wrote down my hopes and dreams that I was still waiting to come to pass. I wrote down all of the hurt and pain that I needed a healing from. I wrote down everything that I had been petitioning God for and I was just ready to hear what my Heavenly Father had to say and I was ready for my miracle and my breakthrough.

While I was at the retreat God did exactly what I longed for Him to do. He spoke, He healed, and He delivered me! God had a lot to say to me and I was so overwhelmed by all that I experienced at the retreat. I had a breakthrough moment with God. While at the retreat there was a time where we all had the opportunity to share what we experienced. As I listened to each woman, and as I reflected on my own experience I was reassured God hears us all. Personally I was excited God heard my voice. Verse 2 says “he turned his ear to me.” Not only did God listen to all of the women at the retreat, but He is so omnipresent that He was able to listen to me and my long list of prayers.

I walked away from the retreat refreshed, full of joy, and in the overflow of God’s goodness and His glory. I experienced some amazing things. As I reflect on Psalm 116 it’s amazing to finally look back over the scriptures that I have prayed and meditated on through the dark season and to finally see them come to pass in my life. I am in awww at the awesome God that I serve. I don’t know why I am so overwhelmed, because He is just being the God that He said He would be. God is faithful to His word.

Psalm 116:8-9 NIV
For you, LORD, have delivered me from death,
my eyes from tears,
my feet from stumbling,
that I may walk before the LORD
in the land of the living
.

I’m sharing my testimony today because I know there are so many people out their struggling. I know there is someone reading this that is in their dark season. I know there is someone questioning if God hears. I know there is someone crying out “how much longer Lord?” I know there is someone reading this on an emotional rollercoaster. I know there is someone out there who can’t take another blow. I know exactly how you feel. Today I can testify that God hears you, He sees you, and He is listening. I know your journey may seem like an eternity. Mine certainly did. I refused to accept the pit as a reality. I looked at all the people around me and how God had moved miraculously and supernaturally in their life. I continued to stand on God’s word and believed by faith that if God can do it for them, then He can do it for me too. And you know what, HE DID!

I repeat…..
I love the LORD, for he heard my voice;
he heard my cry for mercy.
Because he turned his ear to me,
I will call on him as long as I live. (Psalm 116:1-2 NIV)

All will be well with your soul. Be Blessed and Encouraged on today!

Prayer
Heavenly Father, I share with the world today how much I love you and how grateful I am to have you as my Heavenly Father. My prayer today is that every reader be reminded that you are the God who hears and the God who delivers. Give each person strength in whatever challenges they face. Give them the measure of grace to make it through each day. May we all continue to keep our eyes gazed on you knowing that you hear us and this too shall pass. May your grace, mercy, and favor be on us all. Amen

One thought on “My God Who Hears

  1. Praise God for your breakthrough! I’m so happy to hear your prayers are being answered! God bless! 

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

