Lessons From An Immobilized Foot

Lessons From An Immobilized Foot
Written by Felicia McKnight
8/20/2014

Psalm 46:10 NKJV
Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!

I am convinced that our almighty God, the creator of heaven, earth, you and me speaks to us in all sorts of ways and through all of His creation. I was especially blown away when God decided to use my recent encounter with my injured foot to teach me a spiritual lesson.

This summer I launched out on my journey for the second time to become a jogger. That was a failed attempt when I once again injured my foot. I thought this was a one day injury but the swelling and the pain persisted for several weeks. After not being able to wear shoes or have successful workouts I finally decided to stop operating in my gift of procrastination and go to the doctor. When I arrived for my first visit the doctor predicted that I had a stress fracture and would possibly need to wear a boot. Before he finalized his diagnosis he first ordered an x-ray which did not show a stress fracture and then an MRI to look more internally at the bones and tissue around my foot. Throughout this process I was hoping and praying I would not be put into one of those non-fashionable boots. I kept thinking about how hot it would be if I had to wear one and how it did not match my fabulous summer shoe collection.

As I waited patiently in between doctor appointments and reflected on the benefits of wearing a boot for the proper healing God begin to speak to me “Be Still and know that I am God.” Being still in its literal sense is something hard for me to do. I guess I take after my grandmother in that I do not know how to sit down somewhere and be still. Sleep is as close to I can get at being still. I struggle with being still. As a toddler I know time outs were not an effective punishment for me because it required me to be still. As I continue to journey through this life God is determined to have His way with me and show me how to “BE STILL and know that He is God.” Maybe there is someone reading this that is like me. We try to help God out and fix things or make things happen in our own strength and ability. The God we serve just wants us to be still and trust Him and know that He is God! As I reflected on this spiritual lesson that God keeps trying to get me to pass I realized He decided once again to give me a lesson from an immobilized foot on being still and knowing that He is God.

Lesson #1: Let God Fix it
My foot had been injured for several weeks yet I continued to go about my daily business. I did not go to the doctor or urgent care when I initially sustained the injury. I still continued to work out only making matters worse. My foot continued to swell causing me not to be able to where closed shoes. The pain went from my foot up my leg to my knee. I have no clue what else may have suffered because I didn’t seek proper medical attention right away. How many times do we find ourselves needing God to fix some area or relationship in our life yet we continuously get in His way? The more we interfere with matters the worse things get. Remember Sarah and Abraham? Sarah tried to get in God’s way and speed things up by having Hagar conceive a baby for her husband. Sarah’s interference only made matter’s worse. It created strife in her home and caused another individual to get hurt.

In my case I simply needed to go to a doctor and let their area of expertise handle my injury. Likewise in life we need to bring our matters before God when they arise instead of trying to solve our problems on our own. God is sovereign. He sees all and He knows all. He knows exactly what it will take to fix our situation. He knows the end from the beginning and the journey it will take to get there. He knows how to cause all things to work together for the good.

Lesson #2: Being Still Is a Time For Self Examination
After my first visit with a physician my next step was to have an x-ray. If the x-ray did not show a fracture, then I would need a MRI. The purpose of these tests was to allow the doctor to see what the natural eye could not see. When a fracture did not appear in my x-ray I had to get the MRI, because the MRI allowed them to see the tissue and other components of my foot that would not be picked up by an x-ray.

When we are going through challenging times often the problem we see with our natural ability is not the problem that ultimately needs the repair. When we are still and waiting on God He uses those opportunities for an in depth look at our soul. It’s an opportunity to see what areas He needs to work on in us so that we are ready for all that He has in store for our lives. Many times God won’t fix the situation until he fixes us first.

Lesson #3: While You Are Still Remain In God’s Presence
After the doctors reviewed my x-ray and MRI it was determined that I would be placed in a boot. The good news is it’s only for a few short weeks. Whew! Wearing the boot allowed my foot the opportunity to rest and be still. It was immobilized so that I would not put normal daily pressure on it. It allowed my foot the opportunity to be in a secure place so that no further injuries were sustained and the healing process could take place.

While you are allowing God to work on you and your circumstances rest in Him. Pray more. Read the word more about what God is speaking to you or what the Bible has to say about your circumstances. While you are resting in God you are in a safe and a secure place that will allow transformation to take place. God wants us to be secure in Him and in His presence. God wants us to be still in His word and in His promises.

Psalm 91:1-4 NIV
Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.[a]
2 I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”
3 Surely he will save you
from the fowler’s snare
and from the deadly pestilence.
4 He will cover you with his feathers,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

Lesson #4: While You Are Still God is Working
While my foot is in the boot being still in a safe and secure place there is a healing taking place behind the scenes. My natural eye cannot watch the fracture mend or the muscles heal, but I can rest assure that while my foot is secure in its boot there is a healing taking place. “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:18 NIV)

God wants us to be still and know that He is the God we read about in the pages of the Bible and that He is faithful to perform His word. He wants us to be still and know that He is faithful and will keep His promises. God wants us to trust Him and know that he is working behind the scenes. We can’t always see what God is doing. We don’t always know how God is doing it. All we know is that it will be done and whatever we are waiting on God for will surely come to pass. We just need to be still and KNOW that He is God. “The one who calls you is faithful, and he will do it.” (1 Thessalonians 5:24 NIV) “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.” (Hebrews 10:23)

What is it that you are waiting on God to do? Do you keep getting in His way to accomplish your desired outcome in your own strength instead of relying on God’s power? Are you waiting on God to show up in your finances? Be still and KNOW that he is Jehovah Jireh. Are you waiting on God to heal you in some physical area or to heal a relationship? Be still and know that He is Jehovah Raphe. Are you in need of a peace of mind and searching for it in places other than the word of God? Be still and know that He is Jehovah Shalom. Whatever need you are facing today surrender it to God. Rest in His safety and in his security knowing that He is working it out by His power and his might. One thing I know about God is that if we take our hands off and let Him take control He can do exceedingly, abundantly, above all we could ask Him for, think or imagine. Be still today and know that He is an Ephesians 3:20 God. Be blessed and encouraged.

Prayer
Heavenly Father, we praise you for being the Sovereign God that you are. We thank you that you see every aspect of our life and that you know the beginning from the end. Thank you for the reminder today that as problems arise we need to only be still and rest in you while you work out our situations according to your plan. Thank you for the inner transformation that takes place during the time of stillness and thank you for the outcome that will be exceedingly, abundantly, above all we can ask you for or imagine. In Jesus Name. Amen

Leave a Reply

