My Prayer For You (Ephesians 1)

My Prayer For You (Ephesians 1)
Written by Felicia McKnight
9/10/2014

Ephesians 1:15-19 The Message
That’s why, when I heard of the solid trust you have in the Master Jesus and your outpouring of love to all the followers of Jesus, I couldn’t stop thanking God for you—every time I prayed, I’d think of you and give thanks. But I do more than thank. I ask—ask the God of our Master, Jesus Christ, the God of glory—to make you intelligent and discerning in knowing him personally, your eyes focused and clear, so that you can see exactly what it is he is calling you to do, grasp the immensity of this glorious way of life he has for his followers, oh, the utter extravagance of his work in us who trust him—endless energy, boundless strength!

One of my favorite prayers to pray over people is this scripture passage found in Ephesians 1. I know that the word of God is the will of God for our lives. When I am praying this Ephesians 1 prayer I can remain confident that God heard my prayer and that it is His will to answer it for the life of that person. “Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.” (1 John 5:14-15 NKJV)

That’s why, when I heard of the solid trust you have in the Master Jesus and your outpouring of love to all the followers of Jesus, I couldn’t stop thanking God for you—every time I prayed, I’d think of you and give thanks.
It is an honor, a joy, and a delight to meet other believers in our Christian faith. It is a wonderful experience to see others who acknowledge our Heavenly Father as their Lord and savior Jesus Christ. We share in our faith and we trust God with our life. I thank God for each person that I have the pleasure of interacting with and I thank God for the opportunity to pray for my Christian brothers and sisters. It is a joy when God places someone on my heart and He uses me to pray His will for their life. It is a joy to stand in agreement with individuals and bring their needs before the altar knowing that God hears every one of our prayers and He will answer them according to His will.

But I do more than thank. I ask—ask the God of our Master, Jesus Christ, the God of glory—to make you intelligent and discerning in knowing him personally.
Besides thanking God for that person and thanking God for using me to pray for that person I also am interceding for them. My prayer is that each person knows God by cultivating their relationship with Him daily through prayer and reading His word. As you read God’s word you become more acquainted with His character and His ways. The word of God comes alive. It speaks to you specifically concerning your life. As you read the word you are drawn closer to God in a more intimate way. Think of a new relationship. The more you spend with that person and the more you talk to them you get to know them, their ways, and their behavior. If you like that person, then you want to talk to that person and be around them more. This is my prayer for you. The more you spend time with God and the more you get to know God the hungrier you will become for Him.

Your eyes focused and clear, so that you can see exactly what it is he is calling you to do.
I think about Saul in Acts 9. In this story blindness temporarily fell over Saul and he could not see for three days. God appointed Ananias to lay hands on Saul. Immediately scales fell off of his eyes and his sight was restored. In Acts 9:15 God needed the scales removed from Saul’s eyes because He had work for Saul to do. “But the Lord said to Ananias, ‘Go! This man is my chosen instrument to proclaim my name to the Gentiles and their kings and to the people of Israel.’” (Acts 9:15NIV) God has a purpose and a work for all of us to do in His kingdom, but we so often have trouble seeing what the work is because we are so blinded by the busyness of life and our own agendas. We need to be able to see with our spiritual eyes, because God has so much in store for all of us in what He desires for us to do.

Grasp the immensity of this glorious way of life he has for his followers, oh, the utter extravagance of his work in us who trust him – endless energy, boundless strength!
There are blessings in operating in our purpose and our spiritual gifts not just for the kingdom but for us personally. This Ephesians 1 prayer is ultimately a prayer for your spiritual growth and enlightenment. Our obedience leads to God’s blessings. God is sovereign and God is powerful and He knows what is best for His children. What a wonderful life we can all live if we just allow God to order our steps in every aspect of our life. Be blessed and encouraged on today!

PRAYER

Heavenly Father, thank you for the opportunity to pray for my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ. Lord, I thank you for each person that takes time out each week to read this devotional. I thank you that they have a heart for you and a hunger for your word. I pray that each person seeks after you daily by spending time with you in prayer and studying your word so that they will become hungrier and thirstier for more of You. I pray that you grow each person in their wisdom and knowledge of who You are and in their knowledge of every promise that You have for their life. Father as they grow more in You I pray that each person is transformed by the renewing of their mind. Touch their spiritual eyes and remove the scales off of their eyes, so that they may see clearer the things that you are showing them. Help them to keep their eyes focused up on you from where their help comes from. May each person be filled with the spirit daily to discern the sound of Your voice. May each person hear from You clearly on all that you are commanding them to do. May they be obedient to the commands of Your voice so that your perfect will can be accomplished in their lives as you lead them to the destiny You have for them. Lord you said no eye has seen and no ear has heard all of the wonderful plans that You have in store for those who love you. May each person surrender to your will and your ways so that they may reap all of those wonderful things You have stored up for them. As each reader keeps their eyes gazed on You may they also trust You. They may not know where you are leading them or how You are going to do certain things, but help them to remember to trust in You knowing whatever You have in store is extravagant and it is more than they could ever think of or imagine. We ask these things in Your precious son Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

