Gift of Wisdom

FeeDay37

Gift of Wisdom
Written by Felicia McKnight
10/23/14

Ecclesiastes 8:1 MSG
There’s nothing better than being wise, Knowing how to interpret the meaning of life. Wisdom puts light in the eyes, And gives gentleness to words and manners.

This is the day The Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it! Thank you Lord for not only allowing me to see another day, but allowing me to see a new age! Every year I consider my new age a new chapter in my book of life! As I start this new chapter one of the only things I can think about is I am at an age where I want to limit the amount of mistakes, wrong decisions, and poor choices I make. Over the past year I found myself in multiple situations of not knowing what to do. I was clueless. On some things I sought God and got it right and others I just did my own thing and well….you know how that goes sometimes. The older I get the less I want to mess up. I don’t want to be in situations, places, and relationships that God does not desire for me. I know I will never be perfect and will make some mistakes from time to time. With all errors I learn and grow from them and I recover. I have learned and come to realize that in order to have all that God desires for my life I need God given wisdom. I want to be in a position to have God’s best and all that He has planned for my life. Operating wiser leaves less room for operating outside of the will of God.

There is nothing better than being wise. Knowing how to interpret the meaning of life.
The facts and challenges we face each day is knowledge, but knowing what to do with them is wisdom. I can only imagine what a much better life we can live if we make smarter and wiser choices going forward. Wisdom tells you how to spend money. Wisdom tells you how to react and respond to situations. Wisdom tells you who your real friends are versus the acquaintances, haters, and spectators. Wisdom tells you who to be in romantic relationships with. Wisdom shows you if that person is your spouse or not. Wisdom shows you which route to take on life’s journey. Wisdom tells you which information to share with others and what to keep to yourself. Wisdom is God’s direction in all areas of life.

Wisdom puts light in the eyes.
I love Tony Evans definition of wisdom, “Wisdom is the God given ability to perceive a thing and then implement a little of God regarding it.” We know that where there is God, there is light. Scripture tells us that if we lack wisdom we can ask God for it and He will give it to us. “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.” (James 1:5 NKJV) Wisdom can be obtained by seeking God in His word and in prayer. “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom, And the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. For by me your days will be multiplied, And years of life will be added to you. If you are wise, you are wise for yourself, And if you scoff, you will bear it alone.” (Proverbs 9:10-12 NKJV)

And gives gentleness to words and manners.
Wisdom causes us to be more Christ-like in what we do and say. “But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.” (James 3:13, 17 NKJV)

“Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show by good conduct that his works are done in the meekness of wisdom. My son, if you receive my words, And treasure my commands within you, So that you incline your ear to wisdom, And apply your heart to understanding; Yes, if you cry out for discernment, And lift up your voice for understanding, If you seek her as silver, And search for her as for hidden treasures; Then you will understand the fear of the LORD, And find the knowledge of God. For the LORD gives wisdom; From His mouth come knowledge and understanding; He stores up sound wisdom for the upright; He is a shield to those who walk uprightly; He guards the paths of justice, And preserves the way of His saints. Then you will understand righteousness and justice, Equity and every good path. When wisdom enters your heart, And knowledge is pleasant to your soul, Discretion will preserve you; Understanding will keep you.” (Proverbs 2:1-11 NKJV)

As we each grow older I pray that we all become wiser because God has given us the mind of Christ. (1 Corinthians 2:16). Be blessed and encouraged on today!

Prayer
Heavenly Father, thank you for allowing me to see another birthday. Lord I thank you for the gift of this devotional blog and for every person reading the message on today. I lift up every person that you would grant us more spiritual wisdom. Guide our steps to delight in you more through reading and studying your word and in prayer. Father give us the wisdom to make better decisions that follow the path you would have us go and help us to conform to ways that keeps us in the center of your perfect will. In Jesus Name.

3 thoughts on “Gift of Wisdom

Leave a Reply

