It’s Time For The World To Know Another Name

He causes wars to end throughout the earth. He breaks the bow and snaps the spear; he burns the shields with fire. “Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.” The LORD of Heaven’s Armies is here among us; the God of Israel is our fortress. (‭Psalms‬ ‭46‬:‭9-11‬ NLT)

It’s Time For The World To Know Another Name
Written by Felicia McKnight
12/3/14

I along with the majority of the nation sat glued to the television set as I waited to hear if there would be indictment charges against Officer Darren Wilson for the shooting death of Mike Brown. As I listened to the prosecutor tarry on in his statement I had an anxious feeling of wanting him to just get to the point. I sat in amazement once the announcement was made that there would be no charges against officer Wilson. I was disappointed wondering how many more young men will have to loose their life to senseless violence. Will there ever be a day where the Trayvon Martin’s and the Mike Browns can get through alleged criminal accusations without it ending in a life lost?

What happened next saddened me even more. Violence, gunfire, looting and not so peaceful protests broke out in our country. I understand everyone handles anger differently, however solving violence with violence does not equal peace or justice. It just equals more unnecessary outcomes of destroyed property and injured lives. Businesses had to suffer for something they had no involvement with and the cycle of destruction continues.

Regardless of whose fault everything is I just sat in heartache at everything that was taking place and I pondered on the question where is God in all of this? Where was the church to help people deal with their emotions differently? If more people knew Christ would the outcome have been different?

That night I began to pray over everything that was going on and over my own thoughts. I was at peace as God reminded me that He is here and He is a sovereign God. For those who are in disagreement with the grand jury’s outcome for this case be reminded today that we serve a God who sees all and knows all. I stand on the same statement I made with George Zimmerman. If Officer Wilson killed Mike Brown with wrong motives then God knows. God is the ultimate judge. “God alone, who gave the law, is the Judge. He alone has the power to save or to destroy. So what right do you have to judge your neighbor?”(‭James‬ ‭4‬:‭12‬ NLT). If these men truly had wrong motives for killing these individuals, then God sees what the justice system can not see. God said in His word, “I will take revenge; I will pay them back. In due time their feet will slip. Their day of disaster will arrive, and their destiny will overtake them.’” (‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭32‬:‭35‬ NLT). I look back at George Zimmerman. Although he was not convicted of killing Trayvon Martin based on what I have seen on the news he is suffering way more consequences outside of the jail system then he probably would have in the jail system.

I am not sovereign like God, so I don’t know why things like this continue to happen. Why did 911 happen? Why do girls keep getting abducted in Nigeria? Why is it everyday I turn on the news there is more bad than good taking place? The only conclusion I can draw is that evil still exists in this world. We may not understand why things keep happening and we may not always understand the outcome. What we need to know is that “Our faith should not be in the wisdom of men but in the power of God. (I Corinthians 2:5 NKJV). I pray the eyes of our nation will look up towards the hills from which cometh our help. Our help comes from the LORD, the covenant keeping God, Yaweh,who made heaven and earth. (Psalm 121:1-2). This nations help comes from the God who can cause wars and protests to cease, so be still and know that He is God. (Psalms 46:9-10)

It’s now the Christmas season where we focus on love, peace, joy and the one who can give it to us. At the funeral of Mike Brown, Jr his stepmother spoke and mentioned a prophetic dream Mike Brown, Jr had just before he died. He told his step mother, “One day the world will know my name.” That prophecy has certainly come to pass. However, in the midst of all of the anger, disappointments and violence it’s time for the world to know another name. That name is Jesus! The one who’s birth we are celebrating in this season.

“Therefore, God elevated him to the place of highest honor and gave him the name above all other names, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue declare that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” (‭Philippians‬ ‭2‬:‭9-11‬ NLT)

Jesus….the one who died on the cross for us.
Jesus….the one true living God.
Jesus….the healer.
Jesus….the deliver.
Jesus….the one who is compassionate of man kind.
Jesus….the forgiver.
Jesus….the one who sits at the right hand of God interceding for us.
Jesus….at his name demons tremble.
Jesus….at his name circumstances change.
Jesus….the lover of our soul.
Jesus…the King of kings and Lord of Lords.

Jesus….Jesus….Jesus!

Whatever you are going through and whatever your emotions are concerning politics and the justice system…..Jesus….Jesus….Jesus!

Be blessed and encouraged on today!

Prayer
Heavenly Father, I rejoice today knowing that we can be still and know that you are God. I pray the eyes of our nation will look up towards the hills from which cometh our help. Our help comes from the LORD, the covenant keeping God, Yaweh,who made heaven and earth. Lord, I pray that you will be a healer to our hurting nation and that you will send forth peace that surpasses all understanding. I pray for souls to know you as their Lord and savior so that they can experience your love, grace, mercy, forgiveness, healing, and peace. May you be all these things to us and this nation. In Jesus name. Amen

Song: “Oh How Precious” by Kathy Taylor http://youtu.be/d8yJHejtPpw

Leave a Reply

