Book Review: Kingdom Woman by Tony Evans and Chrystal Evans Hurst

Kingdom Woman
Book Review: Kingdom Woman by Tony Evans and Chrystal Evans Hurst
Written by Felicia McKnight
12/17/14

I had been in a plateau in my spiritual life. I felt like I was at a dry place and needed a personal study to help give me a spiritual jump start. I was in a place of feeling like I was pouring more out to others spiritually than I was pouring into me. I had been searching for something and finally decided to pick up the book “Kingdom Woman” by Pastor Tony Evans and his daughter, Chrystal Evans Hurst. The book was very engaging and enlightening. I made it through the first four chapters and felt like I was in information overload and that I read too fast. There was so much spiritual wisdom that I decided to start over and read the book slow as a daily devotional. I was able to take notes and ponder on key points that ministered to my soul.

“Kingdom Woman” was a book specifically designed with me in mind. Reading this book was an enlightening reading experience that gave me biblical principles on being a better woman of God by surrendering to His will and allowing Him to dictate every area of my life. It showed me how to be a better woman, mother, wife (someday), prayer warrior, and disciple. It gave me biblical principles in all of these areas. Some I was able to put a check mark next to and some reminded me of the areas of my life that need improvement. What I appreciated most is each chapter was aligned with a Women in the Bible or an applicable biblical story that applied to the principal being taught.

Who is a Kingdom Woman?
A Kingdom Woman is a woman who positions herself under God’s authority, His Lordship, and allows Him to be master and ruler over every area of her life. She operates according to the rules set forth by God in His Holy Word. The Kingdom Woman is a powerful being and a spiritual force to be reckoned with. She is a highly influential being. She knows who she is according to the word of God and she knows her worth and value. She is a direct reflection of God’s image. The Kingdom Woman was placed on earth with a purpose which is to glorify God in all that she does by promoting the Kingdom of God in her own life and in the life of others. The Kingdom Woman is a woman of value, hope, excellence, and commitment.

A Kingdom Woman is truly a beautiful woman in spirit and everyone in her circle recognizes it. She is valuable to them as a nurturer, advisor, comforter, and encourager. She is inspirational to them. The Kingdom Woman is strong, intelligent, capable, giving, resourceful, efficient, and spiritual minded. She is a woman who operates as she was created to be which is in the image and the likeness of God.

What sets a Kingdom Woman apart from other women is her fear of God. She trusts God completely and surrenders every area of her life to Him. She trusts in God and keeps her eyes gazed on Him regardless of the circumstances. She knows that Jesus already established victory for her life at the cross. She is a woman who allows God to transform her by getting to the root of her issues and changing her completely.

A Kingdom Woman is special and unique. She is called o a higher standard than what the world has set. She choses to live by God’s standards. She doesn’t dwell on the past and knows how to press on and focus on what lies ahead. She keeps her eyes on her destiny and the direction she is headed.

A Kingdom Woman is a woman of faith. She knows that if she stands on God’s word and believes by faith that her prayer can change circumstances in her life, her family life, in the lives of those she impacts. She is a praying woman not just when she needs God, but prayer is a way of life for her.

A Kingdom Woman is a committed woman to her family. She knows the priorities God has set for her marriage and her children. She is a committed woman in her church. She has no problem mentoring younger women and serving in her community. A kingdom woman is a woman who allows God to use her to make an impact in the lives of others. The kingdom Woman is a woman of faith and of purpose.

This book is one I encourage every woman to read regardless of the season of life you are in. Read it so that we can all blossom, shine, and grow to be the Kingdom Woman God created us all to be. As I read this book I realize there are so many phenomenal attributes of a Kingdom Woman. She seems perfect, however, “A Kingdom Woman is not a perfect woman. She is a forgiven woman who has been loved by the Master despite her past, her weaknesses, or her struggles.” (Chrystal Evans Hurst, pg 192) We will never be perfect on this side of heaven and that’s OK. Imperfection is why we need Jesus on a daily basis. The ultimate take away from this book is as long as we live a yielded and surrendered life, then God can mold us and refine us in the areas we need work on, so that we can be all that He created us to be.

Be Blessed and Encouraged!

P.S. Men, I don’t want you to feel left out. Tony Evans has written a book specifically for you called “Kingdom Man”.

PRAYER
Heavenly Father, give us the wisdom, knowledge, and the strength to be obedient to You so that we can be the kingdom men and women you have called us to be. Order our steps to your word daily and help us to take time out each day to communicate with you in prayer. Give us the strength to live surrendered lives to you and allow you to completely be our Lord and Master of our lives. Continue to mold us and shape us so that each day we are conforming more into your image and your likeness. In Jesus Name. Amen

One thought on “Book Review: Kingdom Woman by Tony Evans and Chrystal Evans Hurst

  1. I’m so excited to read mine that my Big Little Sister gave me as a great lift! Thank you for the wonderful insight on this book! ♡

Leave a Reply

